Northridge Uninsured Motorist Lawyer
Most drivers know the protocol to follow when a car accident occurs – exchange insurance and license information, document the accident, notify law enforcement if necessary, seek medical attention, and notify your insurer. However, a driver who has little or no insurance can throw a wrench in the usual process, leaving you worried about who will pay for your damages and unsure of how to proceed. The experienced uninsured motorist lawyers at the Walch Law Group understand this is a confusing situation, so we are here to help you navigate the insurance and litigation processes, investigate your case, and fight to get you the check you deserve. With over 40 years’ experience and an over 98% client success rate, we know how to get results and maximum possible compensation no matter the circumstances. Call today to have your questions answered and see why Robert and Gary are the team you want in your corner.Laws, Regulations, and Penalties Regarding Auto Insurance for Motorists
California drivers are required by law to always keep current car insurance of no less than statutorily determined minimum levels. Failing to obey may result in fines and possibly license suspensions. Currently, failure to carry current insurance results in a:
- $100-$200 fine for a first offense
- $200-$500 fine for a second offense
Though the fines may sound small, added penalties and fees can end in a $100 fine costing close to $450. In addition, your car may be towed and impounded. Getting your car back usually means the owner must:
- Pay all towing and storage fees incurred from transporting and storing their vehicle
- Obtain satisfactory insurance and showing proof of their insurance
Worse yet, if you’re involved in a car accident while uninsured, you may face up to a 4-year DMV suspension of your drivers’ license – even if you didn’t cause the accident!
Despite the possible consequences uninsured motorists face if caught, almost 1 out of every 8 drivers in 2017 were uninsured! These drivers can get into car accidents just as easily as insured drivers and cause injuries for which they cannot pay. With nearly 12.5% of people driving without insurance, Northridge drivers need to exercise extra caution and know what to do if they’re involved in an accident with an uninsured driver.Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage is available as a add-on to a basic auto insurance policy. This coverage means your insurance company will pay for any damages you sustain due to a car accident if the other, at-fault driver has no insurance to pay for your car repairs or your physical injuries. Insurers may even cover damages through uninsured motorist coverage if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run and aren’t able to get information about the other driver’s insurance policy.
California does not require its motorists get or maintain either uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. However, all insurance companies must offer you the option of getting this coverage when you are buying a policy. If you decline, you must sign a waiver acknowledging you turned down coverage which was offered to you. Uninsured motorist coverage commonly pays for:
- Medical expenses you and you passengers incur
- Up to $3,500 in property damage you insurance policy’s collision coverage doesn’t cover
Even though many motorists do want to follow the law and carry car insurance, the coverage level they choose is often far too low to cover damages caused during an accident. California only requires drivers to carry insurance coverage in the amount of:
- $15,000 for bodily injury
- $30,000 total for death or injury in a single accident.
Considering the fact that even fender-benders can cost thousands in property damage alone, these coverage levels will cover almost nothing in a severe accident causing catastrophic injuries or permanent disabilities which may easily incur hundreds of thousands in medical bills.
Underinsured motorists like these can leave you on the hook for damages above their policy limit unless you have underinsured motorist coverage on your own policy. Many uninsured motorist coverage clauses include this coverage, meaning your insurer pays some or all damages exceeding the other motorist’s policy limits.Talk to a Lawyer Today
If you’ve been hit by a driver who had no insurance or too little coverage to pay for the damages they caused, it can make a traumatic situation even more emotionally and financially stressful. If you think you won’t be able to hire an attorney because of money worries, think again. The experienced Northridge uninsured motorist lawyers at Walch Law believe everyone deserves a chance to pursue compensation and justice, which is why they take all their cases on a contingency fee basis and don’t get paid until after you do. We’ll start working for you from the moment we’re hired to secure the best result possible on your behalf; we understand how much a check and closure can help with your recovery. Call us today with your questions to learn more and take the first step to recovery.